WA Science Hall of Fame

A focus on research of an international quality and the fostering of an outstanding research culture have positioned UWA as one of the best universities in Australia and in the top 150 in the world.

Further information

  • UWA Crowd Research

The Western Australian Science Hall of Fame recognizes excellent and sustained scientific achievement in Western Australia.

2015 Inductee

Professor Cheryl Praeger AM FAA

Professor Cheryl Praeger is one of the world's leading mathematicians, best known for her works in group theory, algebraic graph theory and combinatorial designs. Professor Praeger has promoted mathematics through research and professional associations.

Professor Praeger was appointed as a member of the Order of Australia in 1999 for her service to mathematics in Australia. In 2003 she received the Centenary Medal of the Australian government and in 2009 was made the WA Scientist of the Year. She is a recipient of the Moyal Medal, George Szekers Medal and Thomas Ranken Lyle Medal.

In 2014 she was elected an Honorary Member of the London Mathematical Society. In 2015 she was also inducted in the WA Women's Hall of Fame and was awarded the Mehdi Behzad Prize of the Iranian Mathematical Society, for management in mathematics.

2014 Inductee

Emeritus Professor Alan Robson AO CitWA FTSE

Emeritus Professor Alan Robson AO was elevated into the Western Australian Science Hall of Fame in recognition of his outstanding contribution to scientific research and tertiary education across his career. Emeritus Professor Robson was Vice Chancellor of UWA from 2004 until 2013, and Deputy Vice Chancellor and Provost since 1993.

Professor Robson chaired the Group of Eight and was Deputy Chair of the Council of the National Library and Universities Australia. He was a member of the Western Australian Science Council and the CSIRO board.

In 2003, Professor Robson was made a Member of the Order of Australia, has been awarded a Centenary Medal, is an Officer of the Order of Australia and a Citizen of Western Australia.

2013 Inductee

Professor Lyn Beazley AO FTSE

Professor Lyn Beazley was the Chief Scientist of Western Australia from 2006 until 2013. In this role she has been a tireless national and international ambassador for science and science engagement in Western Australia.

Lyn undertook her undergraduate studies at Oxford University and her doctorate at Edinburgh University. Over a 30 year research career she built up an internationally renowned research team that focused on recovery from brain damage.

Her research also changed clinical practice in the treatment of infants at risk from pre-term delivery. She was awarded an Order of Australia in 2009 for service to medical science and her contribution to the development of science policy in Western Australia.

2012 Inductee

Professor Stephen Hopper AC FLS FTSE

Professor Hopper, the first non-British born Director of the Royal Botanic Gardens in Kew, returned to take up a new Chair in Biodiversity at The University of Western Australia. Professor Hopper is an internationally acclaimed plant conservation biologist who has made an outstanding contribution to biodiversity preservation.

He names Australia as one of the great places on the planet to pursue biological studies and has collaborated in the naming of more than 300 new species of plants through 40 years of field-based research, mostly in south-western Australia.

He has made significant improvements to a number of the State's conservation programs and infrastructure and, earlier this year, was named a Companion of the Order of Australia for his service as a global science leader.

2010 Inductee

Professor Fiona Stanley AC FAA FASSA

Professor Fiona Stanley is the founding director of the Telethon Institute for Child Health Research, is an advocate for the needs of children and their families and promotes the importance of using population data to provide health, social and economic benefits to the community.

Her role in the discovery that a diet rich in folic acid during pregnancy can prevent spina bifida in babies and that cerebral palsy may be caused by factors other than birth trauma alone, such as infections or blood incompatibilities, have improved birth outcomes.

She is also widely recognised for her contributions to Indigenous child and maternal health in Western Australia.

Professor Stanley was named Australian of the Year in 2003, was honoured as a “National Living Treasure” by the National Trust in 2004 and is the UNICEF Australia Ambassador for Early Childhood Development. The new state-of-the-art hospital being constructed at Murdoch is named the Fiona Stanley Hospital in honour of her achievements.

2009 Inductee

Professor Ian Constable AO

Ian Constable

Professor Ian Constable AO is recognised as one of the world's leading ophthalmic surgeons.

He is the founder and director of the Lions Eye Institute, now the largest eye research institute in the southern hemisphere and dedicated to the investigation, prevention and cure of blinding eye disease. With Professor Constable at the lead, the Lions Eye Institute has made many ground breaking developments, including the Lions Eye Institute artificial cornea which is granting sight to people around the world.

Professor Constable served on the Premier's Science and Innovation Council and the Western Australia Science and Innovation Council as the Deputy Chair. He is also the foundation director of The University of Western Australia's Centre for Ophthalmology and Visual Science.

2007 Inaugural Inductees

Professor Barry Marshall and Dr Robin Warren

Professor Marshall and Dr Warren were recognised for their dedicated service to research when, in 2005, they were awarded the Nobel Prize for Medicine and Physiology.

They discovered the bacterium Helicobacter pylori as a cause of gastritis and peptic ulcer disease. Thanks to the pioneering discovery by Professor Marshall and Dr Warren, peptic ulcer disease is no longer a chronic, frequently disabling condition, but a disease that can be cured by a short regimen of antibiotics and acid secretion inhibitors.