Premier's Science Awards

A focus on research of an international quality and the fostering of an outstanding research culture have positioned UWA as one of the best universities in Australia and in the top 150 in the world.

Further information

  • UWA Crowd Research

The Premier’s Science Awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of the Western Australian science community. Award recipients exemplify the outstanding scientific research and engagement efforts taking place in the State.

The Awards cover all fields of science, including natural, medical, applied and technological science, engineering and mathematics.

The 2014 Awards are proudly sponsored by Chevron, ExxonMobil and Woodside.

The Awards are supported by the Western Australian Government and administered by the Office of Science within the Department of the Premier and Cabinet.

Scientist of the Year Awards

2015 Winner

Professor Mark Cassidy

Professor Mark Cassidy is an ARC Laureate Fellow, the Lloyd’s Register Foundation Chair in Offshore Foundations, Deputy Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Geotechnical Science and Engineering and Director of UWA’s Centre for Offshore Foundation Systems (COFS). His research interests are in offshore geotechnics and engineering, predominantly in developing models for the analysis of oil and gas platforms, mobile drilling rigs, anchors and pipelines.

Professor Cassidy’s work has contributed to the State’s capabilities in safe and economic instruction of oil and gas platforms having been incorporated into the design of platform and pipeline infrastructure currently being constructed of the coast of WA.

Professor Cassidy has published over 190 refereed journal and conference papers and jointly holds two international patents with Singaporean mobile jack-up builders Keppel Offshore and Marine.

  • 2014 Professor Ian Small
  • 2013 Professor Mark Randolph
  • 2012 Professor Peter Quinn
  • 2011 Professor Ricard Hobbs
  • 2010 Professor Michael Tobar
  • 2009 Professor Cheryl Praeger
  • 2008 Professor Jorg Imberger
  • 2007 Professor David Blair
  • 2004 Professor Bruce Robinson
  • 2002 Professor Barry Marshall

Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year

2016 Winner

Dr Scott Draper

My research focuses on offshore fluid mechanics, applied to both the oil and gas and marine renewable energy industries. This covers a range of problems spanning through the water column, including: the stability and scour of subsea infrastructure at the seabed; the optimum arrangement of marine renewable energy devices; and, most recently, wave kinematics and hydrodynamics of floating bodies. I like to use a range of field data, laboratory testing and numerical modelling in my research.

I am fortunate to work on research projects supported by the Australian Research Council in combination with industry partners Woodside, Shell, Bureau Veritas, Lloyds Register Group and Carnegie Wave Energy. I have also undertaken industry research projects with Subcon, Fugro AG, Technip, Arup and Bombora Wave Energy. My research work has been presented in > 100 publications (Journals + Conferences + Reports).

  • 2015 Dr Hannah Moore
  • 2013 Associate Professor Shazzad Hossain
  • 2012 Associate Professor Ajmal Mian
  • 2011 Professor David White
  • 2010 Professor Eric May
  • 2009 Associate Professor Kevin Pfleger
  • 2008 Ben Corry

Student Scientist of the Year

2013 Winner

Mr Tristan Clemons

Mr Tristan Clemons’ research focuses on applying nanoparticle technology to treat heart disease, breast cancer, colon cancer and central nervous system injuries. His cross disciplinary research has resulted in the filing of an international patent describing nanoparticles for imaging and drug delivery. He is also committed to inspiring students to pursue science careers and is involved in a range of voluntary science engagement activities. He combines his academic work with sporting excellence, representing Australia in hockey.

  • 2012 David Erceg-Hurn
  • 2008 Jacinta Delhaize

Science Ambassador of the Year

2013 Winner

Professor Myra Keep

Professor Myra Keep has developed a range of geological research, teaching and outreach activities in East Timor through significant collaboration with all levels of government, schools and the local community. She initiated the program and has raised all the required funds for her research and engagement activities. Her outreach activities have included the training of young geologists, students, government officials and industry personnel leading to significant community development.

She has been instrumental in the development of student links between UWA and East Timor. A number of these students have now returned to Timor as trained geologists, having completed degrees in Australia and elsewhere.


2008 Winner


SymbioticA, the UWA Centre of Excellence in Biological Arts, is an internationally recognised art and science collaborative research laboratory dedicated to the artistic research, learning and critique of life sciences.

The first of its kind in the world, the laboratory enables artists to engage in hands-on biology practices and collaborate with scientists in a biological science department. With an emphasis on experiential practice, SymbioticA encourages better understanding and articulation of cultural ideas around scientific knowledge and informed critique of the ethical and cultural issues of life manipulation.

SymbioticA offers a new means of artistic inquiry where artists actively use the tools and technologies of science, not just to comment about them but also to explore their possibilities.

ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year

2016 Winner

Christopher Brennan-Jones

Chris Brennan-Jones is a clinical audiologist and PhD candidate. His PhD research is examining automated audiometry and how this technology can be applied to telehealth models of care to improve access to hearing services. In addition to his PhD research, he is involved in a number of clinical and epidemiological hearing research projects and leads an ear health program for Indigenous children in remote WA.

Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year

2014 Winner

Centre for Integrative Bee Research (CIBER) Science Engagement Initiative

CIBER's Science Engagement Initiative aims to increase community awareness about honeybees. It showcases the links from bees to pollination, food and honey and the industries and people that depend on them.

CIBER uses a variety of strategies to engage audiences, including an academy award nominated documentary, an annual public Honey Festival in the Swan Valley, a permanent honeybee exhibition at Scitech and a dedicated social media page encouraging users to follow ongoing activities.


This Page

Last updated:
Friday, 16 December, 2016 9:55 AM